Bonfires and Bluejeans

Randoms from my spot next to the fire

Showered by Grace

on September 19, 2011

Now how did I get here?
What have I done to deserve this?
I have been showered by grace
It’s a beautiful night
It’s a glorious day
When I’m looking at her face

     Those are the words to one of my most favorite songs, probably ever.  You can listen to it…HERE…and see for yourself why I absolutely love everything about it.  There’s a line in it, though, that really stands out for me that explains so much.  Probably says a lot about everyone in some point or another, if they would stop and reflect long enough.  “I have been showered by grace”.  Grace means a million different things to a million different people.  Google grace, and a bajillion pages pop up; one for every religion, church, and organization that has access to a website.  But ask someone who has lived it, and you get a real definition.
     Last week, we took a family trip to Hobby Lobby, and a sign caught my eye.  It’s a simple, rustic, metal wall hanging that simply says it all.  Grace.  I admired it, a lot.  Being Hobby Lobby, it wasn’t much money, but being that there are a lot of plans in the works for our future, we passed it up and I didn’t think anything more about it.  Fast forward several days, and lo and behold, seeing as how I have the love of the most thoughtful, caring man that pays close attention to what I say, (sorry girls!) I walked in and found the Grace sign that he had bought for me.  Side note: Reason number 3,456,230 why I love him…he takes the time to listen and knows that it’s the small things, like knowing I had my eye on a decoration at Hobby Lobby or that I had a rough day and brings me a coke at work, that makes my heart melt.  Anyway…
   We hung the sign up over a window in the living room so that every time I walk in the house, or go through to the kitchen I notice it.  Which has made me really think about the word grace and the truth and meaning behind it.  Had you asked me when I was 6 what grace meant I wouldn’t have hesitated to tell you that it meant saying a prayer before we ate supper.  It was a verb; something that was done.  Honestly, I wasn’t too far off.  Grace is a form of a verb to me still.  It takes many forms when it’s is in action.  Grace is the basic definition that is found in the dictionary: Simple elegance or refinement of movement.  How I have wanted to be called graceful my whole life!  I can bet all my bucks that not too many people have sat around talking about how graceful and refined my movements are; the bruises I still carry around seem to prove the lack of general grace I posses.  Hopefully what I lack in physical grace I can make up for in other areas…such as an attractively polite manner of behaving.  I put a huge importance on manners and social skills, and asking the kids how they feel about my demanding they use the “magic words” and m’ams and sirs will surely bring about some eye rolling.  It’s a form of grace that I take very seriously.  But that just scratches the surface.

     What about the intangible meanings?  The ultimate meaning, for me, of grace is acceptance.  We are accepted, by God, without merit and completely undeserved.  Today, tomorrow, regardless of what we do and the choices we make.  Even with our stupidity, God’s grace is never based on us.  Never a direct response to our mistakes, or consequences of our actions.  Even though, probably, it should be.  That, to me, is the perfect definition of unconditional love.  Grace gives the freedom to be who we were made to be.  Even if that person is someone who has an excessive amount of quirks and odd ideas…such as myself, perhaps.  Once we are able to realize that nothing we could ever do, regardless of how bad it may seem, could make us run out of grace, we are able to, in turn, pass that grace on to others in our lives.  Showing that kind of grace to kids by giving them the security to know that irregardless of how bad they may mess up, they will always be loved.  Protected.  Fought for.  This doesn’t mean there won’t be consequences.  Lord knows there are always going to be those.  Kids, adults, dogs…it doesn’t matter.  We are all subject to them.  But, here again is where the grace falls in place.  Even when we experience the consequences, because we are loved unconditionally, the lessons we need to learn are never so harsh they kill us.  It may seem that way; sometimes we are as hard headed as a donkey (especially one in present company).
     Because of this grace, we are loved, respected and cherished.  We are given the opportunity to grow, change and learn.  All while being honored and supported for who we are and what we have to offer.  In this gift of grace, whether through the context of a spiritual nature, parental, or a romantic relationship, the basic, underlying theme is acceptance.  First and foremost, the acceptance comes from God in that everything ever done for us has been done in the name of grace.  We could never, ever do anything to deserve one thing God has done for us.  Regardless of your spiritual beliefs, that is the basic, fundamental foundation of His truth.  Once recognized, it’s not difficult to see the principle of grace in action in other areas, as well.

Now how did I get here?
What have I done to deserve this?

I have been showered by grace
It’s a beautiful night
It’s a glorious day
When I’m looking at her face
             
How did I get here?  I know, without a doubt, that I have been showered with grace.  And I have been given the opportunity to be loved, and to love, unconditionally.  In that grace comes freedom.  I am so blessed.

Leave a Reply

