Bonfires and Bluejeans

Randoms from my spot next to the fire

Surprise!

on September 19, 2011

     I live for surprises.  Whether that puts me as the giver of the surprise or the getter of the surprise, I just love ’em.  Here is the problem though.  I get so excited I just can’t wait.  Like right now.  I got the best ideas for Christmas…but I can’t tell.  And that part sucks.  Cause I really wanna give them their presents, or at least tell them what they are cause I know they are gonna love it!  Last night I actually thought about the different holidays between now and Christmas that I could sneak a few gifts in.  Today is National Talk Like a Pirate Day (Arrrggg).  Think that calls for me getting someone something new and shiny?  I do!  Thanksgiving?  You ‘betcha!
     The flip side that that excitement and inability to wait coin is that when I know there are surprises to be had for me.  I love knowing I’m gonna be surprised with something.  But it drives me batty.  Seriously nuts.  I will hound and beg to know, but deep down I really don’t want to know; I want to be surprised.  Crazy, hu?  I think it’s all just part of the excitement and anticipation.  That, and I’m a girl.  That has a lot to do with it I bet.  I can be pretty sneaky when need be.  I remember being about 7 or 8 and it was around Christmas time.  I have a younger (but bigger) brother who at the time had to of been about 3 or 4.  I told him if he told me one present that I got, I would tell him something that I knew he was gonna get.  Well…being the smart, wise, older sister that I was (and still am), I totally lied about what he had gotten for Christmas that year…just so I could ruin my surprise.  And it did.  He told me all he knew.  The Christmas surprise was (kinda) ruined for me.  Did I learn my lesson?  Nope.  Still haven’t.  So no matter how much I beg.  Plead.  Threaten your first born.  Don’t give in.  I really love surprises.

Leave a Reply

