Bonfires and Bluejeans

Randoms from my spot next to the fire

It’s a great day to be a Pokes fan around here!

on October 24, 2011
     The balance has shifted.  There has been a tilt in the atmosphere; a tangible shakeup in the energy in our home.  I am walking around here today, my chest bowed out with pride, more so than on a typical Sunday during the midst of college football season.  The cockiness that usually abounds in this place has been amped up to levels never before seen.  What is all of this over, you may be wondering?  The BCS poll for the week has just been released.  And this, my friend, is a house divided.  Divided is such a gentle word; we are vicious.  When our teams are playing, we don’t talk.  I cannot stand to even be in the room when the crybabies Sooners are playing, and apparently, for some odd, strange reason, Sean doesn’t really care for the Cowboys.  Go figure.  I’m sure it’s just to annoy me, but I’ve yet to prove that.  Needless to say, bedlam doesn’t even come close to describing the raging, blood pumping loyalty that flows through the house on game days.  Even the kids get into it; I am one proud mama…I’ve raised some pretty awesome trash talkers if I do say so myself.  (It’s a life skill sure to come in handy.)  I mean there can be no talk about the game amongst ourselves; there can’t be anything nice said, and it usually turns into some pretty nasty trash talking, so why let the sweet little fella get his feelings hurt, right? 
 Now.  I have to say, that all the mouth runnin’, trash talkin’, good for nothin’ sooner fluff has now ceased.  Stopped.  Halted.  I do believe a bit of humbleness has bestowed itself upon our home, and thank the Lord above I’m not the one that has to be humble.  Lord knows I’ve been a loyal fan long enough over the years.  It’s time to let them have a taste of their own medicine now, isn’t it?   Waking up to the wondrous news that the Sooners lost, and lost good to an unranked team, and at home nonetheless made my day.  Sean knew before he even checked the score.  He knew that life as he knew it was about. to. change.  It’s three on one around here.  Well, three and then a half cause Tyler is about as fickle as they come, so he only counts when he’s pulling for the Pokes.  I can only imagine the looks on the Sooner’s faces when they realized what a loss would do for their national championship bid…oh wait.  I bet one looked a lot like this wee Sooner fan who just has no chance…
The looks on his face says it all…”oh crap.  We are gonna totally get our butts handed to us in bedlam.  Then the ‘boys are gonna go on and take our national title from us.  Whaaaaaa…..”  It’s perfectly clear.  No words even have to leave his mouth.  So the moral of this beloved love story is this: Don’t piss a Poke fan off.  Keep running your mouth, talking your trash, being the obnoxious fan that some Sooners think they must be.  We will handle you.  We can take it.  Cause if some unranked nobody can kick your sorry butts, than you know that the team that just took your spot will do a dang good job of doing it too.  I can’t look into the future or predict how things will go, but for some strange reason…I do see something like this transpiring…
“So, Mr. Gundy, you win again.  You deserve this, because obviously you out smarted us, out played us, and are by far the superior team.  “Oh Mikey just hang your head in shame.  Oops…hang on a sec…you missed a tear.  It’s okay.  It comes with being a man that’s 40.  You’ll get there.”
It feels so good to be a Cowboy fan.

Leave a Reply

